alternate Route or post-bacc program

Discussion in 'General Education' started by amethyst, May 21, 2009.

1. amethyst

amethyst Companion

May 21, 2009

I have a bachelor's degree already and want to get my teaching certification. Would you recommend doing the alternate route or doing the post-bacc program?

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

May 21, 2009

In this economy, I'd do the post-bacc program.

4. hernandoreading

hernandoreading Comrade

May 21, 2009

I went the alternative route and it worked out great for me. I did mine through ABCTE.

5. TeacherShelly

TeacherShelly Aficionado

May 21, 2009

Sorry to sound dumb, but what is the difference? I have been saying I did the alt-cert route, but I might be wrong. I had a BS in Business Administration; then went to a CSU and got a credential. Is that alternate, or post-bacc?

6. Missy99

Missy99 Connoisseur

May 21, 2009

Do you mean a master's program? That is post baccalaureate (post-bachelor's).

7. frogger

frogger Devotee

May 21, 2009

There is also a post BA where you take the courses in teachers education, student teaching etc through the college and then are certified.

I would get the post BA.

8. Kangaroo22

Kangaroo22 Virtuoso

May 21, 2009

I would do post-bacc, too. You would have a credential in hand when applying for jobs, which could make it much easier for you to get a job.

9. Mrs. Q

Mrs. Q Cohort

May 22, 2009

I would do post-bacc as well. Definitely a safer route, from everything I've heard/seen.

10. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

May 23, 2009

Amethyst-