Alternate route or go back for my master's in education?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Teacheroflove, Aug 12, 2013.

1. Teacheroflove

Teacheroflove Rookie

Aug 12, 2013

Hello everyone!
    I'm 24 years old and currently working as an early childhood paraprofessional at a preschool. I graduated in May 2012 with a degree in Psychology and a Certificate in Spanish. I would like to become an elementary school teacher (preferably kindergarten or first grade).

I live in Philadelphia, PA but plan to relocate to New Jersey with my boyfriend, so I'm looking more into the New Jersey District. (South Jersey to be exact). I'm at a crossroads and not sure what would be the best thing for me to do at the current moment. I am in the process of getting my Certificate of Eligibility through the NJ alternate route to teaching but I hear that it is very hard to find jobs that way. What do you guys recommend I do?

3. Rbart

Rbart Companion

Aug 12, 2013

I would recommend a post bacc. If you are looking in nj I would find a school in nj. I don't know much about alt route but nj is very competitive. I have my masters and feel like it has not helped me at all.

4. Teacheroflove

Teacheroflove Rookie

Aug 12, 2013

thank you for your response.
    What is the difference between a post baac and master's degree?

5. Rbart

Rbart Companion

Aug 12, 2013

I believe a post bacc is a degree that you get by taking education classes needed for initial certification I'm not sure but I think the credits could be used later towards yor MA. I'm not sure about that and I would look into it. I wouldn't get your ma until you have a job. I wish I had done that. Once you have you cert from doe through alt route you can start applying for jobs while you are looking or taking classes.

6. schoolteacher

schoolteacher Habitué

Aug 12, 2013

It is very difficult to find elementary jobs in New Jersey. It is even more difficult if you have alternate route certification.