Alt. Cert.? Don't give up!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Edelweiss, Jul 16, 2007.

1. Edelweiss

Edelweiss Rookie

Jul 16, 2007

As someone who's going the alternative certification route, I was terrified that I wasn't going to get a job because I have ZERO teaching experience. But then, today it happened...I GOT A JOB! I went in for an interview, spent a great hour with the principal and magnet coordinator, and got hired on the spot!

To all of those who are struggling with a lack of experience: keep trying. Some school, somewhere, will be a perfect fit for you, experience or no!

(On a side note, if he hadn't offered me the job during the interview, I had already decided that I was going to ask for it myself...I really like this school and the staff and faculty I met today!)

3. GatorGal

GatorGal Cohort

Jul 16, 2007

Congrats, that is awesome!!

4. Mrs.Gould

Mrs.Gould Comrade

Jul 16, 2007

Congratulations!

5. CareerChanger

CareerChanger Rookie

Jul 16, 2007

Congrats on the job offer! I also have zero experience and am going the alternate cert route. I was offered an employement contract after my first interview. I am looking for a math spot and interviewed in an urban district... so perhaps they were not too picky :) Made me feel really happy that I would get the offer, even though I am not quite certain it is the best fit for me, and I may still look some more.

6. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jul 16, 2007

Congrats!!!

Edelweis, what will you be teaching?

7. jenngugs

jenngugs Companion

Jul 16, 2007

hooray for you!

8. imanevilempress

imanevilempress Rookie

Jul 16, 2007

Edelweiss--

Can you explain your circumstances a bit more in depth? I'm going to be finishing my undergrad next year and I'm thinking of moving down to FL to pursue a teaching career. Like you, I would like to go the alternative certification route.