already being pushed out!

Discussion in 'Sixth Grade' started by newtoteach, May 27, 2008.

1. newtoteach

newtoteach Rookie

May 27, 2008

I am a new 6th grade teacher who has failed the math GK test (sigh) and has until 6/30 to pass it w/o losing my job in 6th gr. world history. I am studying like crazy and taking review classes and confident I'll pass-but there's another teacher in my dept. (who teaches 8th) and apparently she is already planning on taking my room next year and told another teacher she'd really like 6th grade and knows I prob. won't be here. Now, am I wrong to think that this is really unprofessional of this teacher? I'm still here, aren't I? And God willing I will be next year....I have had a very good year and have not had to deal w/ teacher conflict. If you were me, would you confront this teacher who wants you out :) or just let it be and pass the test (hopefully) and let her eat her words...

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

May 27, 2008

I wouldn't say anything to this teacher. You don't want to confront her and then have to deal with that all next year.

4. New3rdTeacher

New3rdTeacher Comrade

May 27, 2008

I agree, leave it alone. It's not worth it. Just study for your test and do what you have to and don't worry about her

5. newtoteach

newtoteach Rookie

May 27, 2008

Thanks-I'm not very confrontational anyway...it just really gets under my skin that she would actually voice her hopes to another teacher.

6. smalltowngal

May 27, 2008

I'm sure that she didn't think it would get back to you which doesn't excuse her from her comment. It might shed some light on why she said it.

7. newtoteach

newtoteach Rookie

May 27, 2008

Well of course. When things are said behind someone's back we always hope that they don't end up hearing it:) I'm just overwhelmed-as a first year teacher I've done nothing but survive all year and this is my last hurdle.

8. smalltowngal

May 27, 2008