Alphabet Instruction ~ Order to Teach

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by MayerBabe09, Oct 2, 2008.

1. MayerBabe09

MayerBabe09 New Member

Oct 2, 2008

Hello,

Happy to have found this site and what a wonderful resource for teacher brainstorming! Love it!

I'm an experienced kindergarten teacher turned stay at home mom. Last month I sent my newly turned 5 year olds to kinder (triplets) only to realize rather quickly that my children would not be having a good experience given their placement. I never dreamed I'd be one of "those" parents who withdraws my kids from their school, but after a week of observation/volunteering, I knew in good conscious I could not allow them to continue there.

Long story short, the children could not change teachers/classrooms, and so I've put them into a M/W/F Montessori Kinder for this school year. I will be supplementing their learning on Tue / Thu on my own.

So back to the lesson plan drawing board!

My question to you kinder teachers is this:

In what order do you introduce/teach the alphabet in your schools/classrooms? Do you simply go 'alphabetically' starting with A at the beginning of the year and ending with Z? Or is there an order in which I can follow that relates to the frequency of the letter found in the English language? Or perhaps an order which becomes increasingly more comlex to write (such as beginning with the letter O and ending with a more sophisticated letter graphically such as G or R?

When I taught 9 years ago, we simply followed ABC order, but I'm interested to know if new research / studies have discovered even better methods in which to introduce the alphabet.

Also, how long do you spend on each letter unit? I am thinking to follow one letter per week (2 days per letter).

Any/all advice welcome!

Thanks!

:)

3. punchinello

punchinello Comrade

Oct 2, 2008

Interesting post! I am looking forward to reading the responses to your questions.