Algebra for everyone? Sometimes I wonder...

Discussion in 'Debate & Marathon Threads Archive' started by atomic, Mar 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. atomic

atomic Companion

Mar 7, 2010

I have very mixed feelings with the "Algebra for Everyone" attitude.

Do I think most students could get it? Yeah...

Do I think most students will use it after HS? Maybe...

Do I think most students will use it after College? No...

I don't use it outside of class, and I'm an algebra teacher. I do use math computations everyday. This is the stuff that has been forgotten in my district.

I feel I am the only one in my department that wants a student to know their times tables! And don't even get me started on the basic understanding of fractions and decimals...

3. Hoot Owl

Hoot Owl Aficionado

Mar 7, 2010

I agree with you atomic. I'm a fundamentalist and think children must have a foundation to build knowledge on. How can they learn and retain what they've learned if they don't have a foundation from which to build on?

And... "Algebra for Everyone" is like a blue car for everyone.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Mar 7, 2010

I think that algebra teaches problem solving skills, and that's something that almost everyone needs.

Does my 89 year old mom ever do a problem that begins with "two trains leave Chicago..." Nope.

But she does know, and need to know, how to approach a problem, how to organize information, how to translate a situation into some sort of mathematical sense. That's the foundation of all I do with my Algebra kids. So, while I agree that all kids need a foundation, I would argue that Algebra IS that foundation for any sort of complex thought.

But I'm with you on the computation thing. Our kids don't use a calculator until they see Trig functions in Geometry. (My geometry kids saw it a few weeks ago, some of the other teachers haven't seen it yet.)

5. mrsf70

mrsf70 Companion

Mar 7, 2010