Aide or no Aide?

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by Kteacher1, Jul 14, 2007.

1. Kteacher1

Kteacher1 Rookie

Jul 14, 2007

I recently interviewed for a kindergarten position at a small school. At the end of the interview, they let me know that they would not be hiring a kindergarten aide. Is this standard practice anywhere? The expected class size is 24 students.
    Both of my children attended schools where each K class had an aide. My mother also works with kindergarten and has an aide. My stepfather has been a teacher, principal, and super in 5 school districts and each had K aides.
    Are there any comments or feelings that experienced teachers can share (this is my first year)?
    Thanks!

3. kinder4me

kinder4me Comrade

Jul 14, 2007

I have been team teaching Kindergarten for 2 years with 38-40 students. I only had an aide part-time (twice a week). There is not way I would have an aide at all if my class size was smaller. I feel there should be aides provided for Kindergarten classes, but in Miami-Dade County that just doesn't happen. It is always helpful to have an extra set of hands. Good luck!!!

4. Miss_J

Miss_J Habitué

Jul 14, 2007

In my district, we have 13 elementary schools each has between 2 and 4 kindergartens with anywhere from 18-25 students. There is no aide in any room.
    In the district that I live in, there are 6 elementary school with 2-3 sections in each school and about 18-25 in each. No aides. The aides are only seen in private schools in my area.
    I would love to have an aide, but that is just not done around here.

5. Ms.MB

Ms.MB Rookie

Jul 14, 2007

I taught full time kindergarten my first year. I had from 21-19 kids during the course of the year and no aide. This is not unusual in the district although most principals assign paras to help out the classroom daily. For example, one para is shared between all three kindergarten classes.