Ahh! So nervous..

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Shiloh17, Sep 8, 2013.

1. Shiloh17

Shiloh17 Companion

Sep 8, 2013

I am a first year teacher, tomorrow is my first back to school night. I am very nervous...I don't want it to show...any tips would be appreciated!

3. Mr. Radiohead

Mr. Radiohead Rookie

Sep 8, 2013

What's the setup?

Will the parents come into your class and you have to prepare a talk going over procedures, rules, curriculum, etc. at a set time?

Or is it more casual. Will parents drop by your class, come and go, between a certain time for a less structured meet and greet?

4. Shiloh17

Shiloh17 Companion

Sep 8, 2013

We have 2 sessions...the class is split into half. I have to talk about the rules, procedures, curriculum etc. briefly. I prepared a scavenger hunt for them to do with their children as well.

5. a2z

a2z Maven

Sep 8, 2013

Children come? Our elementary schools discourage children from coming.

6. mariecurie

mariecurie Companion

Sep 8, 2013

Be very, very prepared and act confident. You can even rehearse if that helps. Smile, be friendly, and shake parents' hands with gusto. I was surprised many people said I didn't look nervous at all when in reality I was scared witless! :D

7. KinderCowgirl

KinderCowgirl Phenom

Sep 8, 2013

Rehearsing is good advice. I still get nervous speaking in front of a group of adults like that after doing it many times. Good luck! :thumb:

8. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Sep 8, 2013

As a parent, here's what I wanted from Parent Orientation when my kids were in Kindergarten: