Ah, young love...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by catnfiddle, Jun 26, 2017.

1. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Jun 26, 2017

A student confided in me that he has a crush on another student. Believe it or not, because of my years teaching online, this is my FIRST time dealing with this situation. They seem to be, at least for now, good influences on each other. She's helping him with his homework, and he seems to be helping her improve her attendance. That being said, I am nervous if this turns into something more than a crush because they're both on the immature side.

Suggestions?

3. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Enthusiast

Jun 26, 2017

Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  4. MetalTeacher

MetalTeacher Companion

Jun 26, 2017

Near my last day in my middle school practicum (6th grade), one of the girls in the room confessed she had a crush on a classmate and was asking me if she should ask him out to School Fun Night. I was honestly a little petrified and totally not prepared to deal with that. I basically just told her "You should if you want to, I don't see why not." Not trying to make her decision for her or sway her too much.

5. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Jun 26, 2017

My answer was to simply say to him, "I think she's had a rough time with romance." She's covered my white boards with poetry saying that much, so it isn't exactly private news. We'll see what happens, if anything (probably nothing).

6. MetalTeacher

MetalTeacher Companion

Jun 26, 2017

Just curious, what grade level are these particular students?

7. rpan

rpan Cohort

Jun 26, 2017

Let nature take its course. Experiencing crushes, 'love' and 'heartbreak' is part and parcel of growing up.

Peregrin5 likes this.
  8. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jun 26, 2017

Unless you are suspecting something dangerous, back out gracefully. Not your business.

Last edited: Jun 27, 2017
    Peregrin5, otterpop and greendream like this.
  9. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Jun 26, 2017