Aesop cancellations by sub?

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by Turtle321, Nov 14, 2011.

1. Turtle321

Turtle321 Companion

Nov 14, 2011

Hello.

I have been subbing for many years, although this is the first year our district has been using the Aesop system. I have a question that I hope I can get some feedback on...

I have never cancelled a sub job. However, I need to cancel one due to laryngitis & illness. I see a 'trash can' icon next to my sub date. My problem is that I worry about how this will affect my performance. There is no place to state a reason for cancelling the job. I don't want the district to think I'm cancelling for no justifiable reason.

Do you think this will affect future job openings? I miss the days when I talked to a real human being. There is a 'sub coordinator' but when I email, I get no response.

(There are also some known issues and bugs to work out within the district regarding the Aesop system).

Thanks.

3. TeachingHistory

TeachingHistory Companion

Nov 14, 2011

Call the Building you were supposed to be at anyways. Only 1 district that I am at has enabled the function for you to cancel online, and there is a universal message posted on Aesop to call the building if you can't sub. I've had to cancel before because of a medical emergency. It's really not a big deal unless you make a habit out of it. Schools get mad if you simply just don't show up, but everyone gets sick.

4. Turtle321

Turtle321 Companion

Nov 14, 2011

Thank you.

I clicked the 'trash can' and I was removed from the job. There is no 'universal message' posted to call the building. It's a good idea & I will try...considering the reason I cancelled the job was because I have absolutely no voice! That conversation should be interesting. :blush:

5. Vince

Vince Rookie

Nov 14, 2011