Advocating with Principal

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by HOPE-fulTeacher, Apr 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HOPE-fulTeacher

HOPE-fulTeacher Comrade

Apr 16, 2012

*Also posted this in Behavioral Management and New Teacher forums, but I know that the Job seekers forum is 1 of the most viewed and has people who have been through similar situations! I appreciate your help!*

I am a first year teacher dealing with some tough kiddos in trauma situations. Back in December/January, I had a student in full on crisis mode, with several emotional and behavioral ramifications that included repeated (almost daily) physical violence and property damage. I would have to evacuate my class and set things up to teach in the library, which interrupted not only instructional time, but has also had a lasting impact on the emotional well-being of my class. Because this was a fairly unfamiliar event at my school, I was not given much guidance on how to handle it, especially at the beginning.

That student ended up moving to another school, but within the past month or so, I have had another student (who'd been on the radar for social and behavioral issues before, since Kindergarten) escalate his behaviors to point where they are also being a daily interruption and occasionally becoming unsafe. Furthermore, there are now 2 additional students who've seen the additional attention and modifications these other 2 students have received because of their behavior, and have become copycats of the student that is still disrupting my classroom. I have received guidance from my mentor and have gone to her repeatedly about each of the situations mentioned above; however, the interventions that she and I have set up have not been working. Also, I have not yet been formally evaluated by my principal.