Advice?!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by luvteaching25, Mar 31, 2007.

1. luvteaching25

luvteaching25 Rookie

Mar 31, 2007

Hi everyone!

I want to have some imput from anyone out there that has been in my shoes. I am starting to apply for jobs within the district. However, as a preschool teacher, I am finding it difficult to squeeze time to interview for these positions. I work full time and don't get off until 5. In addition, I hate calling in sick and would rather not. However, if I ask, I do not think my supervisor will give me time to go interview. Can principals work around your schedule? What do you think? Any feedback is welcome.

Thanks!

3. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Mar 31, 2007

I have always been given the time off. I have so many personal days a year. I save them for interview time.

4. luvteaching25

luvteaching25 Rookie

Mar 31, 2007

Personal Days

I used a personal day already last week, for another interview. But I have an interview scheduled for this week. It's kinda short notice, and don't think my boss will give it to me.

5. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Mar 31, 2007

I don't know what I would do. You can't use a sick day because if they call your boss for a reference that would look bad. I think if you don't have any personal days left, you may have to take a no pay day. What time is your interview?

6. luvteaching25

luvteaching25 Rookie

Mar 31, 2007

at 11:30, ...in the middle of the day. I was thinking about calling in sick, since I have NEVER called in sick. What do you think

7. luvteaching25

luvteaching25 Rookie

Mar 31, 2007

And I really wanna go to this interview. The Principal said that she wants to make a decision by next Friday, and is not available at any other time.

8. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Mar 31, 2007

I wouldn't call in sick. You don't want them to call your boss and your boss say "OH really, I thought she was home sick".