advice, trying to get into teaching sped!

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by pommom, Mar 29, 2018.

1. pommom

pommom Comrade

Mar 29, 2018

Hello,
    I am currently close to finishing my second year of teaching. I have been a general education teacher both years of teaching. My first year at a private school did not provide sped services. The only thing they allowed was giving kids opportunities to take a quiz or test in a different room if needed.
    My current position at a public school is the closest to having sped experience. I have followed IEPS and sat in on a few 504 meetings (I know 504 is not classified as sped though).

Anyways, I am certified in all grade levels of sped. I always hear sped is a high needs area, but I have not been able to land a sped position in two years after many sped interviews; I have only been offered general education positions.
    My private school principal and mentor wrote me recommendation letters stating that I would be a great fit as a special education teacher because I am able to connect well with low performing students and students with behavior issues. I do not think any of the principals even bothered to read them because the letters were pretty long.

Hopefully this coming school year, I can get my foot in the door to a sped teaching position. I would love to have a co-teach or a resource position.

3. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Mar 29, 2018

How many schools are you applying to? How did your sped interviews go? Maybe you need to brush up on some material to help them see past your lack of sped-specific experience.

Just curious... Why do you want to switch to sped?

4. pommom

pommom Comrade

Mar 29, 2018

I want to teach sped because I believe that my strengths are being able to help students that are struggling the most. I work well in small groups. I am able to teach direct instruction and go at a slower pace.