Advice to your younger self...

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by jjoyce, Oct 26, 2020.

1. jjoyce

jjoyce Rookie

Oct 26, 2020

Hi everyone,

I am currently in my third year of teaching. Some days it already feels like I'm settling into a routine and becoming a little too comfortable/lazy, other days I feel like things are so crazy that I'm barely hanging on. It's all an adventure, and I love how different every day is.

This aside, I would like to know: if you could give one piece of advice to your younger teacher self, what would it be?

- J

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Oct 27, 2020

Don't take work home.

There is always something I could be doing, but I'm more effective when I leave work at work.

nstructor and Iris1001 like this.
  4. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

Oct 27, 2020

Take every opportunity to observe other teachers.

Tired Teacher and Iris1001 like this.
  5. jjoyce

jjoyce Rookie

Oct 27, 2020

Yes, I totally feel this! Thanks for the advice.

6. jjoyce

jjoyce Rookie

Oct 27, 2020

I definitely need to do this more. Thanks so much for your advice!

Backroads likes this.
  7. Loomistrout

Loomistrout Devotee

Oct 27, 2020

“On teaching:...the job seems to require the sort of skills one would need to pilot a bus full of live chickens backwards, with no brakes, down a rocky road through the Andes while simultaneously providing colorful and informative commentary on the scenery.” - Franklin Habit

miss-m and Tyler B. like this.
  8. Tired Teacher

Tired Teacher Connoisseur

Nov 1, 2020

OMG! I could write pages, but shall refrain.
    First: Find a way to make a good home/work life balance.
    2. Take a day off when you just need to rest. ( I retired in a way that I lost a ton of sick leave.) 3. Work stays at school. If it takes 30 minutes extra, stay, but don't bring it home. ( If an hour is needed, I'd do that too.)
    4. Your weekends are yours. Enjoy them!