advice please

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Hokiegrad1993, Oct 26, 2018.

1. Hokiegrad1993

Hokiegrad1993 Comrade

Oct 26, 2018

So this is my first semester student teaching experience. I am working at a title 1 school and let me say the behavior is rough. My mentor teacher is an amazing teacher but when it comes to working with an intern not so much. I do not get much feedback from her, I get attitude when I ask for help and she went behind my back and told the students I was a college student when she told me she was going to tell them I was just an assistant teacher to keep the respect level there. (From there the students lost it with me and they misbehaved and gave me attitude and flat out said we don't have to listen to you)
    I have talked to my advisors and they are on my side and understand that I am not in the best situation to help me grow. My mentor teacher constantly walks out of the room knowing my students misbehave and lose it when she is not in the room and I cannot regain the control.
    I know I am learning and there is a lot to work on but I know I can do it. It has come to the point where I am getting a new class on Monday because my advisors realized my mentor was not a good fit in helping me grow. They made clear it was not an issue with me but with her. Besides the behavior problems the connections with the kids was there. I feel bad for leaving but it is for the best. I feel bad also because I promised lunch bunches with some kids before knowing I was leaving.
    Entering a new class I am nervous. i am hoping it is in a different grade so it can be a clean slate. (I am worried that she told other fourth grade teachers stuff which could cause pre-conceived bias) What are some things that I can do to make connections with new class?

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Oct 27, 2018

Is it at the same school?