Advice please :/

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by ninnee, Jul 24, 2013.

1. ninnee

ninnee Rookie

Jul 24, 2013

So basically in a nutshell I am a career changer. I have my bachelors in graphic design. I have been in the field now for about 2 years ( im 24) an all I can find is freelance though luckily it is steady. When entering college I toyed with the idea of teaching or design and obviously took the design route. I'm now regretting my desicion and decided to go back via post- bacc, for elementary Ed and middle school science. I'll also be certified in art. Today I met up with an old highschool teacher and she basically informed me I was crazy for going back to teaching as it is not worth it because jobs are so few an far between which I understand. Sad thing is I know I want to do this but I keep hearing such discouraging things. By the they way the program will take me 2 years who knows how it'll be then. I feel like im in such a pickle. I just needed to vent and get some advice. Thank you all for time

3. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Jul 24, 2013

New Jersey is a tight job market. However, I think your freelance background might work as a strength for you. You can point out your real-world experience in your field and how you can teach it as a practical trade.

4. teacherwithlove

teacherwithlove Comrade

Jul 24, 2013

I know that computer lab teachers are hot right now in some parts of CA because of the SBAC. Technology is the way education is headed... if it's not there already. Would you consider relocating for a job?

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jul 24, 2013