Advice Please

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by Enso, Feb 9, 2011.

1. Enso

Enso New Member

Feb 9, 2011

This is my first year teaching and it is already obvious to me that I made the WRONG decision. I absolutely loathe teaching. Actually, that's not entirely true, I love the actual act of teaching, imparting an idea from one to another, but the reality of teaching in a public school is so very far from that. What you really end up doing is spending 95% of your time disciplining, defending your subject to ignorant kids and even worse parents, fighting with the administration, and basically spending your whole day being a punching bag for others. I don't mind a little of that but every day becomes rather taxing.
    I understand that there is a period of disillusionment in the first year, and I am definitely having some of that, but my situation goes far beyond just simple disillusionment. I have serious moral conflicts with how our education system is structured, everything from high stakes testing to the fact that the system as a whole is conditioning kids to be dependent on others for their own success. The general atmosphere with students that I sense is one of, "How little can I do to get the grade I need and how can I best work the system."
    Anyway, I know this is a bit of a rant, but I needed to explain my situation a bit first. After the close of this year, I will seek other career opportunities, because I feel that being a teacher who hates teaching is very bad for myself, the school, and all my students. This is the truth: I LOVE MY STUDENTS. Truly, their potential amazes me, however I feel that the formality of school is the biggest enemy of a teacher. Research shows that kids learn better informally.