Advice, Please- Losing Patience

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Moogeeg, Nov 3, 2015.

1. Moogeeg

Moogeeg Companion

Nov 3, 2015

Hello, all!
    I am in my second year of teaching high school. Overall, things are going quite well. I get along well with the vast majority of my students and generally love what I do. I am also usually an extremely positive, energetic person/teacher. However, I definitely have days where things don't go so well in two of my classes and I find it difficult to maintain a positive attitude.

I have occasionally found myself (unintentionally) being a bit short with students in the aforementioned classes. There is no yelling involved or anything, but my lack of patience in those situations definitely comes through. I am not proud of this and am actively trying to work on my responses. I feel absolutely awful afterwards.

Do any of you have advice for dealing with this issue? How do you step back and make sure that you are approaching students with your best attitude?

Thank you so much in advance for your advice.

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Nov 3, 2015

I'm losing patience more now - it's October. According to my principal this is when students start getting tired of school, start acting up, getting disengaged, and in return teachers start getting burnt out.
    At my school we get expelled students from other school, and it usually starts in October. This is when all other schools start getting tired of the problem students, even at the admin. level, and they make the decision to expel them. We've got quite a few new kids just in the past few weeks.

So just know that you're not the only one. We'll have some holidays coming up soon and you will feel better, you just have to make it through.