Advice Please? And did you have to move far for your job?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by UpperMidwest, Apr 4, 2019.

1. UpperMidwest

UpperMidwest Rookie

Apr 4, 2019

I wish I would have discovered my love for teaching while I was an undergraduate and single; then I would not have a problem to relocate to get a job. But I am 37 and married and because of my spouse's job, I am tied to my area. I am willing to drive up to 1 hour to get to work though. I have about 3 years of subbing experience. My educational background is in business and marketing education. I completed alternate teacher education courses and have everything done for my licenses with the exception of student teaching and the edTPA.

I have some anxiety about finding a job and I am wondering if it is worth it for me to go through the required semester of student teaching and pay the $2,000 cost linked to it. Also during student teaching I would lose out on maybe $8,000-10,000 that I could have gotten from a job--so we are talking about an opportunity cost of ~$10,000-12,000 for something that is far from a sure thing.

I have already spent a lot of effort and time on my teacher education program and have already taken out about $7,000 in loans, so, I feel pretty bad about dropping out, but perhaps I made a mistake, and, if I am in a hole, I should stop digging. As a sub I have talked with couple other subs with social studies credentials and it sounds like they regret getting their licenses in that area (one told me that outright). But both business education and marketing education are listed as shortage areas in Wisconsin which is one of the reasons I decided to get the credential (although I do not know of data saying it is a shortage area in my specific region of Wisconsin).