Advice on Power Teaching method

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Ms_B, Aug 14, 2008.

1. Ms_B

Ms_B Rookie

Aug 14, 2008

I was wondering if there were any teachers out there who use the power teaching method developed by Chris Biffle? I have done a lot of research on the method think it would really work well, however I am not able to attend one of the conferences to get a formal training. I am wondering when you introduce the key ideas-the first day? the first week? I am also wondering how this would look all day-I can see it when you are teaching mini lessons, but I don't know if it is something you do all day with all subjects. Basically I am really interested in the concept I would love to hear some practical advice from someone who has used it in their classroom.

3. PowerTeacher

PowerTeacher Comrade

Aug 14, 2008

Hi Ms. B

I am a Power Teacher Trainer. I have used the method for the last year with tremendous success! I teach both 8th grade science and college level history. Students in both courses loved it!

The easiest way to answer your questions is to have you go to my website on Becoming a Power Teacher. Click on the Big Six to get a rundown on applying the basics in Power Teaching.

Read through the Big Six and ask any questions you like.

4. ~mrs.m~

~mrs.m~ Comrade

Aug 14, 2008

Can you tell me more about the reading game that is offered for $3 on the powerteaching website? Is it for content area classes? I am not sure if I can use it for my social studies classroom.

5. PowerTeacher

PowerTeacher Comrade

Aug 14, 2008

Go HERE to watch it in action and see what you think. I believe you could use it easily.

6. Ms_B

Ms_B Rookie

Aug 14, 2008