Advice on Landing a First-Year Teaching Job? Is It Even Possible?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by faye-wray, Jan 10, 2016.

1. faye-wray

faye-wray Rookie

Jan 10, 2016

I graduated from college last May. I went to a good, respected teaching college in my state, did very well (graduated cum laude with a 3.69 cumulative GPA), and while I wouldn't call my student teaching an extraordinary performance, I still did well and I left on good terms with my CT (half a year after I finished ST with her, she gave a district a good reference check for a sub position when they called her about me).

I probably applied to about 30-40 different districts last year, but only got 2 interviews. One district I thought I did very well (actually, I know I did...the principal had a rubric in front of her that she was using to rate me and I could see that I got top marks on almost everything), but I never heard from them again after (no response even when I called and e-mailed in an attempt follow up). Another district, I made it to the last round of interviews, but they went with someone else.

I started subbing for my local high school (which I also graduated from) and after only 6 months of being there, I've become fairly well-liked. One English teacher (English is my content area as well) even took the time to write to me, the principal's secretary, and the principal about how well I did when she had to take an absence for a few days to take care of her mother (and she also requested me to be her sub whenever possible) and the principal's secretary has told me multiple times how lucky they are to have me there. And then, I also just started subbing for another local school district this month. Only thing is, it doesn't look like either of these districts will be hiring an English/ELA teacher any time soon and that's what I'm certified for (and both districts know I'm certified and would take an actual teaching position with them in a heartbeat).