Advice Needed!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by DifferenceMaker, Jun 14, 2008.

1. DifferenceMaker

DifferenceMaker New Member

Jun 14, 2008

I am a 22 year old male student that is two semesters away from graduating with an elementary ed. degree. I have worked in school systems since I was 16, and I have loved every minute of it. As my degree is winding down and I am taking multiple field work assignments, I find myself wanting to give up. I have never felt that way before, about anything.

It's not the kids, I love the kids. My lesson planning is a little shaky, and I'm nervous about my first real teaching experience coming this week. I have to teach an incoming first grade class (just graduated Kindergarten) math..so I figured something along the lines of basic counting or number sense would be appropriate. While that is all well and good...I don't know the first thing about teaching it to the young ones! I have worked with 4th and 5th grade all of these years.

Now I am under the pressure cooker, because I have a lesson plan all of a sudden due tomorrow and while my ideas are there, I don't know how to teach that specific content (Number sense to fresh first graders). I am not asking for a lesson plan, but some advice on how to teach it. Any help would be greatly appreciated, and I look forward to sticking around here as there are a lot of helpful people. Thanks!

Jim

3. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Jun 14, 2008

Use manipulatives!

And give them a few minutes to play with them first so they don't play through the entire lesson....

What is your specific objective that you will be teaching? To me, number sense covers a lot of ground.

4. SarahJ

SarahJ Companion

Jun 14, 2008

I once did a lesson on using the number line for adding. I drew a big number line and had a cut out of a frog that could jump across the numbers. I also set out carpet squares and label them as a number line and had the kids jump through them.