Advice Needed

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ATwainedTeacher, Sep 6, 2013.

1. ATwainedTeacher

ATwainedTeacher Rookie

Sep 6, 2013

It is my first year at a new high school, and I'm not exactly sure what to do about a situation.

I have been chosen to help with the SCA (with another teacher who has done it for a few years), and the SCA program at my new school is quite involved. We plan character assemblies for students, all of homecoming and its massive town block party, and regular charity and fundraising events. I'm also on the prom committee, which is also a rather large affair at this particular high school.

My VP approached me yesterday about also helping with the SADD (Students Against Drunk Driving) Club here at school. I was unaware that the SCA met during club hours (at my old school, they didn't), and because I was led to think it wouldn't be much extra work, I said that I would help as long as there was another teacher involved. Then, I found out that the big pushes for the SADD club are during both homecoming and prom. Well, okay, if I have help on that front, that will be fine. Now, however, my coworker that I am doing SCA with sent me an email last night saying that she had heard through the grapevine that I was going to be asked to help with SADD. She advised me against it because all of the work involved in SCA. She also made sure to mention that she is so happy to have my help with the SCA, which I have a feeling may suggest that she is worried I won't be able to devote enough time to the SCA.