advice needed

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by boogaboo214, Jan 10, 2006.

1. boogaboo214

boogaboo214 Companion

Jan 10, 2006

i am teaching a 20 yearold how to read. she took an assesment test and it put her on a first grade level. she wants to get her GED and even possibly go to college.she knows it is going to take a lot of work to get there. we had our first session earlier this week and it went well. My problem is that I am a student in college. Time with her is not a problem. I just need some Ideas on a game plan. our first session i gave her spelling words and some activities to do with them. we are working on getting her addition top notch before we move on to subtraction. in language we went over what nouns and verbs are,and she has activities to complete on them. reading we got her a library card and checked out 2 books for her to read anddo book reports on and i plan on doing this every week.she can read a little but she has a lot of trouble. we are into books that I read my 4 year old.I also gave her a journal type book and she is going to write a story or two a week for us to correct her grammar in and i figured it would also help her get used to using words on paper and even get her using a dictionary a little. any body have any ideas as to any thing else that i might need to do? i have found many websites that have printable worksheets for us to use. and i have even found first grade spelling words on line that are in weekly lists. oh i guess i should also mention that she has a slow learning disorder it takes her longer to get things. and she is raising her three year old and is pregnate with her second child she is a single mom and the dad of the second is not in the picture so i also have to be sensitive to her stress level. any ideas are welcome.

3. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Jan 10, 2006