Advice Needed - Would you quit?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by SCTeacher23, Mar 19, 2011.

1. SCTeacher23

SCTeacher23 Comrade

Mar 19, 2011

I need some serious advice. Just as a background, I am a first year teacher in first grade. I have had an absolutely awful year. I am in a Title I rural school in a classroom of 30 students with no aide. 30 students is a handful as it is for 1st grade, but on top of that, we have a lot of severe behavioral issues. Hitting, physical fights daily. Children just don't know how to behave - the class is really out of control .. constant calling out, running around the room, throwing things.. it is hard to even teach. A student beat me up and gave me a large bump on my head and nothing was done about it from the Principal! It is difficult because I have little support from the Principal. At first I thought I had bad classroom management, but their Kindergarten teacher last year who has been teachign for 25 years had the same problem. Our school's teacher of the year was supposed to get this class this year, but she switched to another grade level because she REFUSED to teach my group of students. When I was absent one day, they had a sub and 3 teachers in the school in the classroom at one time and they could not control the class.