Advice for Kinder

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by Kinder09, Jun 22, 2009.

1. Kinder09

Kinder09 New Member

Jun 22, 2009

Hi Everyone...I am a first year teacher and I was just hired to teach Kindergarten. I'm super excited but very overwhelmed, as I have no idea where to start. My student teaching experience was in a 2nd grade classroom so, experience with Kinder is limited to some just observation time. Can anyone help me with a starting point. What type of materials should I be looking into for my classroom? Also, we are a team teaching school, but I don't have experience with that either, so if anyone can clue me in a little on what that exactly means, I would be very thankful! I'm wanting to use my summer wisely, in order to prepare and get ready, but I honestly don't know where to start! Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks to all!

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Jun 22, 2009

1)MODEL, MODEL, MODEL
    2)PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!!!!

Remember that some of the kids have never been in school. I wouldn't move on to the next thing until the students do it right. As far as team-teaching, I would think one teacher would be teaching reading and another one would be teaching math.

Good luck!!!

Where in TX are you?

4. vannapk

vannapk Groupie

Jun 23, 2009

Congratulations on your new job! You are indeed wise for wanting to use your summer to prepare :) Here is a link to the page just for new teachers on my website. There you will find suggestions for materials you should be gathering and preparing to get ready for the first days and beyond :) Good luck!

5. KinderCowgirl

KinderCowgirl Phenom

Jun 25, 2009

Kinder - congratulations on the job!

I agree with the advice you have been given by the others.