Advice for a student studying education

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Melaina Neto, Feb 22, 2020.

1. Melaina Neto

Melaina Neto New Member

Feb 22, 2020

Hello everyone! I am a sophomore in college who is planning on becoming a high school teacher in the future. I am researching teachers for a project and some of the problems they might have. The two problems I will be focusing on are:

1. Having the freedom to be creative in the classroom. Students learn in different ways so I would imagine it can be hard to apply the same set of curriculum to every student effectively.

2. Teachers being paid less than they deserve.

Which problem in your opinion is more important? Do you have any ideas as to how we could solve them? Any information or experience you have would be extremely helpful! You can really talk about anything you would like, these are just ideas.

Thank you so much!

Melaina

3. OrestesELA

OrestesELA New Member

Feb 22, 2020

1) Kiss the ring.

2) Any plans you have, keep them to yourself until you have your own classroom. Many teachers are HIGHLY conservative. By conservative, I mean that push to maintain the status quo. So, any changes or anything different, you need to keep to yourself. You need to say how WONDERFUL your mentor teachers run things.

Melaina Neto likes this.
  4. Tired Teacher

Tired Teacher Groupie

Feb 23, 2020

Both being paid what we deserve and having the freedom to be creative in how we teach are equally important to me. As a joke, I was thinking about leaving a tip jar out during PT conferences last year, but I knew some parents would joke back w/ tips that were not cash. :)
    Solutions I can think of: A nation wide strike of teachers!

5. OrestesELA

OrestesELA New Member

Feb 23, 2020

Charters will fill the void. There is actually a Supreme Court case still being discussed that will strengthen Private and Charter schools and effectively weaken school districts...

Last edited: Feb 23, 2020
  6. Ima Teacher