Advice for a new teacher still looking?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Crafty6, Aug 8, 2014.

1. Crafty6

Crafty6 Rookie

Aug 8, 2014

Hi Everyone!

I finished my degree and got my certification in Special Education and have been looking for a job since April. I applied to almost every district in 3 counties, about 60-75 jobs, maybe more. I did take a few weeks off from the job search in early June because I went on vacation, but I think I have been pretty consistent. I did have a premliminary interview in early April, but that didnt turn out well, it was a very big district in my county (Which I student taught at) so that eliminated alot of jobs in my area. I have been extending my job search to districts that werwe 45 minutes to an hour away from where I live.

I just started getting calls for interviews in mid July. I had 7 interviews, 2 of which I was called back to have a second interview and teach a lesson. No offers came out of it. My last interview was Monday.

Now I am faced with a dilema. The school year starts from August 18-25 for the schools here. How likely is it that I will get a call to interview? Is it possible to get a job after the school year starts?

Also, I started applying for assistant positions. Is it better to be an assistant or to substitute teach? I know with assistants you are contract, not so sure about subbing, as I still want to search for a teaching job.

I know many people are in this same boat, but it doesnt stop me from feeling disappointed. I was always told that with Sped, it wouldnt be so difficult to find a job. Its devestating to have to wait another year and many of my supplies will go to waste. People keep telling me to stay positive and keep trying, but I still have to be realistic and accept what it. I still fill out about 6 applications a day.

By the way..I live in the Chicago area, if that helps.

Any advice? :)

3. LisaLisa

LisaLisa Companion

Aug 8, 2014