Advice for a head teacher

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by jteach89, Mar 28, 2014.

1. jteach89

jteach89 Companion

Mar 28, 2014

hello all, I need some ideas on how to be a better lead teacher. ive been a lead teacher for a preschool age daycare for about 7 months. My team is great, we have meetings, communicate, but it still seems like im frustrated and trying to split myself into three.

They both have been flexible with me, even though im fairly new to this field. However, ive been noticing a lot of frustrations from all of us. Both of them have a lot more experience than me but dont have the credentials to be a head teacher. So a part of me feels as though they will never really see me as "above" them being that i am the youngest licensed head teacher and not as much experience. My assistant can be a bit overbearing and at times I feel like I was competing. In the beginning, and even a little now, I've had to be more assertive to her because she will do things, and not even consult me.

Im not big on titles; I always expressed how grateful I am, and Im learning so much from the both of them. However, Ive been questioning myself. Maybe its me, maybe im not as organized, assertive or delegate as much as I should. I want to be fair but it just seems like no matter what I do people are still not happy.

So any feedback? If your are a lead/group teacher what do you suggest? I want my team to be happy, at the same time, I want people to follow my lead, and respect my philosophy too, although I may not have 11+ years of experience. I want everyone in the room to feel included. I'm thinking of going to my supervisor for some advice as well.

3. asha

asha Rookie

Mar 29, 2014