Advice for a 1st Year Fourth Grade Teacher

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by FilipinaTeacher, Nov 9, 2010.

1. FilipinaTeacher

FilipinaTeacher Rookie

Nov 9, 2010

Hi Everyone,
    I am a new teacher (fresh out of college), and I am working at the school I interned at. I am at a point of a frustrated point. My biggest issue is discipline. I have tried a variety of techniques suggested by several veteran teachers but I am at a point that it doesn't matter what I do, I know that the students do not take me seriously. I make sure to follow through with my discipline and I have a positive reinforcement plan as well as a plan for consequences.

I know this seems like maybe a ridiculousness post to begin but I am asking for as much advice as I can obtain. I take advice with open arms.
    :thanks:

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Nov 10, 2010

I would keep some kind of reflection journal to really think about when something is working. Choose one or two strategies that you think are most helpful and stick to them for 2 weeks. Keep the journal and write in it at least twice a day (more if possible). Then look back to see if there is any improvement.

What happens to me is I try something, it seems to be working and then I have a horrible day (I'm sick, its close to a holiday, etc). I think that the plan isn't working, but in fact it was just one day!

4. FilipinaTeacher

FilipinaTeacher Rookie

Nov 11, 2010

That's a great idea. Thank you for it. I am in a first year mentor program and I am doing something similar to that.

5. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Nov 11, 2010

It seems that your students don't see you as an effective disciplinarian, or that you don't follow through with consequences. (I'm not saying you are that person, just that the students see you in that light).