advice about finding a job

Discussion in 'Job Hunting & Interviews' started by Dawn-o-might, May 27, 2003.

1. Dawn-o-might

Dawn-o-might Rookie

May 27, 2003

Hi,
    I am in need of some realistic advice or insight into landing my first teaching job. I have attended two job fairs for school districts in my area on May 2nd and 5th. During these job fairs I had several brief "snap shot" interviews; many which seemed promising. However, I have not heard anything back yet.

I have sent thank you letters, emails, and even called a few schools to leave messages requesting to discuss my candidacy with the principals. Still nothing. It has been 4 weeks since I interviewed. IS THIS THE NORMAL TIMEFRAME TO HEAR NEWS OF SECOND INTERVIEWS? AND IS THERE STILL HOPE OR SHOULD I ASSUME THAT I WILL NOT BE RECIEVING AN OFFER?

I just moved to the area in March. I graduated in December from another state, and do not have certification in my new state. (I was told by the district to wait to get hired before applying for reciprical certification). COULD ANY OF THE ABOVE ITEMS BE A CONTRIBUTING FACTOR FOR NOT FINDING A JOB YET?

I currently work as a tutor for a learning center in the area, and I have based my resume and cover letter after a teaching related resume book. I graduated with cum laude honors and have modeled myself after what the current research says an effective teacher should be.

I am considering subbing over the next few months (there is a year round district in the area) to attempt to get my foot in the door. But I would hate to get a job offer in the next few weeks and have gone through the paperwork for subbing for nothing.

Anyone who has any insight or advice on this topic , please let me know what you think. I would really appreciate it.

Thank you,
    Dawn :(

3. Dawn-o-might

Dawn-o-might Rookie

May 27, 2003

P.S.
    If I don't end up getting hired for the next school year, should I look into working towards my masters degree?