Adjunct or sub?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Pi-R-Squared, Jul 3, 2013.

1. Pi-R-Squared

Pi-R-Squared Groupie

Jul 3, 2013

Since I have a Masters degree with 18 hours of graduate math classes, I can ask to adjunct some courses at a local university. Would that be better career-wise or should I consider getting on a substitute list so that I can get into public schools?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jul 3, 2013

Have you been offered an adjunct position?

4. kcjo13

kcjo13 Phenom

Jul 3, 2013

Why not do both? Teach college classes at night, sub during the day. That's what most of my adjuncts do.

5. kpa1b2

kpa1b2 Aficionado

Jul 3, 2013

I'm a little confused. Is your master's degree in math & you have an additional 18 hours beyond that? Or is your masters in something else & you have 18 hours of graduate math courses?

What are your career goals?

6. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jul 3, 2013

I've got a friend looking for an adjunct position right now. Those positions are a little hard to come by, at least in my neck of the woods. It's surely not a situation where a person can just walk in, ask for a position, and expect to get one.

In my experience, university teaching doesn't translate well to K-12 teaching. Certainly any teaching experience is better than no teaching experience, but the two are just not all that comparable.

I think that your focus should be on subbing. If you can land an adjunct position in addition to the subbing, go for it. I'd still advise you that it might not be easy to find an adjunct position.

7. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Jul 3, 2013

Which will be the best for your family? Answer that, and that's what you should do. Either one would look good on a resume.

8. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jul 3, 2013