Adding Certifications

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by pshuckleberry, Mar 21, 2013.

1. pshuckleberry

pshuckleberry Rookie

Mar 21, 2013

I am really confused about adding licensure. I graduated two years ago in Indiana and I am licensed in middle and high school Social Studies. My major was Secondary Ed, Social Studies content. I currently teach ESL in South Korea, but I am returning home in two weeks. I have been fervently applying and video interviewing at various schools, mainly charters in Indiana/Florida/Texas.

I emailed an advisor at my university asking how to go about adding English and/or ESL certifications, but the reply just said I needed to pass the correct Praxis for each area to add on. This seems overly simple to me. Is it actually this easy? I can't imagine that all I need to do to add middle/high school English is take the Praxis and apply for the license if passed? I have been looking over ETS and my state's DOE websites, but I can't seem to find much.

Apologies for lack of certification knowledge! :)

3. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Mar 21, 2013

I'd suggest you call the state DOEs where you want to work, and ask them about the requirements. They should have better knowledge than your advisor, especially in the states other than Indiana.

4. Avalon

Avalon Rookie

Mar 23, 2013

I agree with bella84, get it straight from the state dept. of education in each state, in writing if possible.

But it might be that simple. I added two single subject credentials to my multiple subject credential by 1) passing a subject matter examination (CSET) in each content area; and 2) taking a class in methodology of teaching in secondary schools.

I added these credentials because middle schools in CA are somewhat of a hybrid; some require multiple subjects credentials, and some require single subject credentials. Also, I'm a bit of an over-achiever :)