Accused of assault

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by newbie12, Jun 1, 2017.

1. newbie12

newbie12 Rookie

Jun 1, 2017

Hi,

I recently started teaching at a new school. As a high school teacher I teach a range of students, most of whom are quite nice. Unfortunately a few days ago I was told that one of my students is accusing me of physically assault. She claims that I pushed and slapped her in class, so hard that it actually left a bruise.

Since then I've been having panic attacks and difficulty sleeping. I've called in sick because I'm so overwhelmed with stress that I cant even go to work. I just feel powerless. And whilst everyone at work says they are supportive, there is a definite sense of suspicion and distrust. Unfortunately mud sticks, especially when it involves something as serious as assault.

I am on contract until the end of the year at which point they are almost certainly going to let me go. I would have loved to have stayed at this school permanently, but its looking unlikely now. I'm even thinking of leaving teaching altogether. Advice?

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jun 1, 2017

Did you touch the student? Does the student have any witnesses to back up her claims?

I'm not sure I could continue working at a place where a rumor like this about me was circulating. I think that it would be too difficult to overcome. I'd probably look for a clean slate elsewhere. This is assuming that the claims are 100% false and I have the option to look elsewhere.

futuremathsprof and miatorres like this.
  4. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Jun 1, 2017

If you have not yet contacted your union (it should have been your first call), do it today.

5. miatorres

miatorres Comrade

Jun 1, 2017