"accountable talk"

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by smalagreca, Aug 27, 2009.

1. smalagreca

smalagreca Companion

Aug 27, 2009

Has anyone heard this expression before? I was asked to model a lesson tomorrow with a read aloud and "accountable talk". Help!

BTW< I am an experienced teacher with many years behind my belt. I was asked to to this in a city school so I am unsure if it is something particular they do.

3. monsieurteacher

monsieurteacher Aficionado

Aug 27, 2009

4. monsieurteacher

5. smalagreca

smalagreca Companion

Aug 27, 2009

Thanks everyone. I spoke to a friend who works in the city. She said basically after a story the teacher poses an open ended questions and allows a discussion to take place. The idea is that this is a discussion and children can back up how and why they feel a certain way.

6. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 27, 2009

Accountable talk is deep book talk- you can have kids turn and talk to a partner about a 'thick' question you pose- crawl around listening to a few partnerships...Regather the group. Ask kids to share what their partner said...Ask more questions to get kids to make connections to what others said...

7. smalagreca

smalagreca Companion

Aug 27, 2009

Its not just one question. Its a discussion. The one question where they share with a partner is part of it but that is called TURN and TALK.

8. monsieurteacher

Aug 27, 2009

Can anyone tell me exactly what makes this kind of talk "accountable talk"? Who came up with that label? Doesn't make sense to me!

9. smalagreca

smalagreca Companion

Aug 27, 2009

Yet another buzz word FOR NOW. In theory, the kids are being held accountable by participating in the convos and backing their responses up with reasons.

10. monsieurteacher

Aug 27, 2009

I guess so... it just doesn't sit well with me... when I think of accountability I think more of character education...

11. brigidy

brigidy Comrade

Aug 27, 2009