Accidentally said 'crap' to a student - how much trouble am I in?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by applesnap, Dec 14, 2015.

1. applesnap

applesnap Rookie

Dec 14, 2015

I'm a second year teacher and my students are in grade 11. I do not have a permanent contract yet.

On Friday, I gave a quiz. One student had an appointment and missed the quiz.

Some of the students who wrote the original quiz didn't do very well on it, so I am offering all students a chance to re-write a similar quiz tomorrow. I don't normally offer re-writes.

I told the student who missed the original quiz to show up for the re-write so that I could assign her a grade. She gave me a hard time over it, saying that it wasn't far that everyone else had the opportunity to re-write except her.

I told her that's what happens when you miss class. She continued to press me on it and I got a little irritated and said "this makes me not want to offer a re-write at all, if I am going to get crap about it".

I did sort of apologize to her at the end of class and offered to look over one of her homework problems so that she could see if she is doing the problems correctly before the quiz. But now I am worried I am going to get in trouble for being unprofessional and using the word 'crap'. Am I overworrying?

3. msleep

msleep Rookie

Dec 14, 2015

Obviously not the best word to use but definitely not anything to worry about.

4. ChildWhisperer

ChildWhisperer Devotee

Dec 14, 2015

Yes ^
    And given the context, I don't think it was that bad. I was expecting worse when I read your title, plus, they're older students. It would've been different with elementary kids :)

5. readingrules12

readingrules12 Fanatic

Dec 14, 2015

Exactly...not proud of it, but I have said that word once or twice myself in my teaching career. Apologize and move on..

6. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Dec 14, 2015