Accepting new postions

Discussion in 'General Education' started by msBT, Jul 16, 2012.

1. msBT

msBT New Member

Jul 16, 2012

I was offered a position in a school very close to my family. My husband has been searching for a job in the area, but has only been given interviews an hour away. They offered me this job in early June. Because I was uncertain about my husband's career, I told this job I would give them an answer by July 1st, and when the time came, told them I would accept the position.

Today, a job that I had applied for a before accepting called to schedule an interview. I am a music teacher, with a passion for instrumental music. As a former middle school teacher, this is the job I really want as it is a middle school band position. The position I accepted (but have yet to sign the contract for) is an elementary position, no band. Also, this new position is 20 minutes closer to where my husband is interviewing.

Considering I have not actually signed a contract, is it wrong to interview for the position I really want? I feel guilty because I spoke with the P of the elementary school this morning and said I was on board. I got the call for the interview this afternoon. I cannot see myself making a career at the elementary school, where at the other job I can. Help! Any advise would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

3. stampin'teacher

stampin'teacher Cohort

Jul 16, 2012

Unless you've signed a contract, I don't think you should feel bad interviewing. You don't want to pass up the opportunity to get a more ideal position.

4. silverspoon65

silverspoon65 Enthusiast

Jul 16, 2012

A few years ago I would have said you should take job you promised to. You should honor your word, and try to get into the job you want later.

With the economy and how stagnant the market is, though, I might give you different advice now. Go for the job you want.

5. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Phenom

Jul 16, 2012