A weird question/situation...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by 5-guy-7, May 16, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 5-guy-7

5-guy-7 New Member

May 16, 2015

This is my first year as a teacher in 5th grade. It has gone splendidly (I'm in my mid-twenties.) Anyway, that’s not even an issue.

There is a student in my class who is exceptionally smart, determined, and charming. She is a role model in all areas of her life. She reminds me of myself at that age, the high-achiever. It's been great watching her grown and enjoy the year. I teach reading and writing, so she (among other students) participate in a lunchtime writer’s group for the higher-level kids, and it's been a blast. We swap stories, talk, laugh, etc. I care about all my students, of course, but she is just a fantastic person to be around.

Now the end of the school year is fast approaching. I am incredibly nervous right now, borderline depressed, because I fear what will happen after it ends. I do NOT want her to go off to middle school and never talk to me again, because she is one of a kind and I’d like to continue being part of her life as more than just "the teacher." I have met and spoken with her parents many times over the year, but I don’t know how to proceed. Do I tell her that I want to keep in touch, that once she leaves my class she should try and consider me more a friend/mentor than teacher? Or talk to her parents and let them know I want to continue a dialogue after school ends? Ugh I’m seriously freaking out.

I don’t even know what kind of advice anyone can give. I just needed to vent. Tell someone. Let it out. Okay.

/rant.

(Oh, and for anyone who wants to shoot their mind into the gutter, there is absolutely nothing--repeat NOTHING--inappropriate about our relationship. My feelings might come off a bit strong here, but trust me on that. She is a wonderful young woman and I guess I feel somewhat like a distant older brother.)

3. gr3teacher