A very angry student...

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by aim123, Oct 2, 2010.

1. aim123

aim123 Rookie

Oct 2, 2010

I'm a new teacher in desperate need of some advice with my CTT class, and one student in particular. Any advice anyone has would be extremely helpful!!

I teach in small middle school that divides each grade into classes based on ability/grades. The lowest performing class is a CTT class, mixing both special needs children and children with low grades (that are unclassified). From what I understand, CTT classes are supposed to have a mix of special needs children, as well as "role model" children.. the way the CTT was mixed with this grade is causing major issues both in behavior and academics.

Anyway, we have a student that joined us this year for 7th grade (our school is 6-8). The CTT model for 6th grade has the children in one room all day, but in 7th grade, they travel to different classrooms all day (as a group - all classes do this). This student came from a self-contained special education class last year, and is now matriculating all day with the CTT class. I feel she missed that step of self-contained CTT like the other students in her class had last year.

She is a very angry young lady, constantly getting into fights (verbal as well as physical at times) with her peers. She has major attitude with the teachers, including myself. She comes late to class, or is at the dean or counselor at least 3 times a week. She often refuses to do work, or won't let me see her work when she does it. She covers it with her hands when I walk around to check! Anything sets her off on a major outburst, and I'm not quite sure what to do.