A student is causing emotional distress to other students

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by Giggles1100, Dec 5, 2008.

1. Giggles1100

Giggles1100 Comrade

Dec 5, 2008

OK FIRST LET ME SAY THIS IS PURELY HYPOTHECTICAL.... I am no tlooking on answers on how to help this child just posting an idea to see if it can be done.

We have student with RHetts and is degenerating fast and will soon be tube fed and in a wheel chair and she came to us 3 years ago, screaming and beating herself up and she does this about 6 hours out of the 8 hour day most days, she does have some good days. We keep her separated from others when she has exceptionally bad days. The other kids in our dept hate it and on a weekly sometimes daily basis she upsets the autistic kids and others and they complain about her etc. We have 3 classroom but you can hear her through our walls and halfway across the school. It got so bad last year that an autistic boy I graduated shut down 2 years before when she got here and could not work, but on days she was absent he was fine so we would keep her from him each day so I could get at least an hour of work out of him before he heard her screaming. DId I take data on this to prove it? No...COuld I really have linked this shut down to her? Maybe. BUt he has graduated and it is getting worse now. we have had 2 parents request that she not be on their child's bus home because it upsets their kids and they have ahard time after they get home, buses were changed but nothing was done to inform admin, last year when it happened.