A Rant from a Student Teacher

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by Raye, Apr 18, 2009.

1. Raye

Raye Rookie

Apr 18, 2009

Just needed to vent here.

My cooperating teacher thinks I am incapable of enforcing classroom management. Students are constantly pulling out their cell phones, eating, or talking with their neighbors at unacceptable volumes, and it's become a real hassle to constantly reprimand them. It's bad enough that students don't necessarily see me as the main authority figure because I am just a student teacher after all. I'm getting a bit fed up with this chaotic situation, and I believe most of it stems from my CT not doing much about it initially. I observed him for the entire third quarter and whenever students got loud or noisy, he pretty much let it slide. There was maybe two occassions in which he did something about the noise, but it didn't involve anything that changed students' behaviors the next time we saw them. This is coming from a guy who walks out of the classroom to talk on his cell phone during quizzes and types personal e-mails when students read out-loud and not follow along with the material. I find it hypocritical that he tells me that I should work on this aspect of teaching more when he didn't even do anything about it when he was in charge of the class. I understand very well that I am not the best enforcer of discipline in the world, but my CT did not set a very good example for me and I'm trying my best to keep control of things. In fact, I have no clue what his discipline system is because I don't think he even has one. For a guy who answers "I don't care" in response to students' questions and tells me "It doesn't really matter" about practically everything (i.e. checking students' work thoroughly and whether or not I should review material with them), it's really frustrating for me. I know that a lot of people endured nightmares being in the position of a student teacher, but I just have three weeks left to go and can'