A Random Idea About Homework and Review

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Ms.Jasztal, Jul 11, 2011.

1. Ms.Jasztal

Ms.Jasztal Maven

Jul 11, 2011

I was seeing the optometrist today. When I was purchasing my new frames, I told her I was a teacher and she said if she were younger, she would go into teaching. I responded, "Well, besides the FCAT." LOL. She then said she would test the kids early on and hone in on particular areas, writing the parents letters about which skills to focus and possible homework they can complete together.

Then it was...... BOOM. An idea. Struck. :lol:

What do you think about having a crate with folders labeled with subjects covered in math class as well as math-related enrichment topics? If kids are struggling, then they can go to that folder to get an extra practice sheet for homework. For example, the "Decimal Place Value" folder would have 10 or so assignments with 5 copies each until they needed replenishing. I would then keep a check-off list indicating which assignments were completed. I would include tutorials on the assignments and probably write some of them myself as well as print out good assignments from reference books. Any other thoughts?

3. sweetlatina23

sweetlatina23 Cohort

Jul 11, 2011

I love when those ideas just strike up! LOL Although, I hate when I'm doing something and then later on I can't seem to remember the idea quite as well as I remember it being lol.

I have thought of that several times, but since I don't teach math I find it hard looking for extra things in social studies to make that work. Although, it can work for English. Why don't you have them work on those after tests, if they finish early, etc. Make them complete a minimum each week. You can create a rack card with dates on vista print!

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jul 12, 2011

It sounds kind of like the old SRA readers we did as kids.