A Man's Classroom...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by SleekTeach, Jun 17, 2014.

1. SleekTeach

SleekTeach Comrade

Jun 17, 2014

Hi fellow teachers:

Just a little background:

I know school just barely let out, but my principal seems to already be on our backs about creating positive learning environments for next year. I teach at a very historical school (First African American high school in the area when segregation was going on in the 1880's. Closed and reopened as an Elementary school in the 1990's) Anyway, because of the schools historical relevance we always receive visitors and TV station visitors. Basically my principal wants us to "up" the decorations for the public.

So my problem:

I am a male 1st grade teacher. So far, when I've googled classroom decorations I find stuff like chevron, polka dots, so many squiggly boarders, many illustrations of children that don't represent the demographics of the students I teach, electric pinks, yellows, and blues, and so many other things that just look ridiculous to me. The pictures are so busy I don't see how any student could concentrate in them, but to each his or (mostly) her own.

My question:

What kind of things can look cool, but more minimalist for a laid back guys classroom? Should my room be seen my upper administration or a news crew, I want to be proud, ya know?

3. DrivingPigeon

DrivingPigeon Phenom

Jun 17, 2014

I think there are definitely ways to make a room look nice without the cutesy stuff. One teacher at my school has a sport theme. I searched it on Pinterest, and there were tons of results: http://www.pinterest.com/search/pins/?q=classroom theme sports (if you haven't joined Pinterest yet, I would highly recommend it!).