A little sad

Discussion in 'General Education' started by lucybelle, Sep 24, 2012.

1. lucybelle

lucybelle Connoisseur

Sep 24, 2012

I've posted about one of my students (7th grade) on here before who is super hyperactive. More than anyone I've ever seen before. She was recently diagnosed with all of the above plus Aspergers. They're putting her on medication starting today.

I'm a little sad. She is such a happy bubbly kid and she has gotten so much better at focusing in the classroom. Her most recent tests have been mid-80s, not too shabby for any kid! Let alone one who can't focus! These grades won't get her into Med School, but the kid's not going to be a doctor anyways.

I'm so afraid she's going to lose her personality. I say keep her off her meds and let her have her childhood. I understand there is a place for medication, but I don't think it should be her.

But I'm no professional.

I have her again on Wednesday, so I'll get to see any changes.

:(

3. applecore

applecore Devotee

Sep 24, 2012

So sorry to hear that, but there's always a bright side where you'll see her ability to focus and she might actually be able to think clearer instead of having so much going on in her mind at once.

Here's hoping for the best!

4. a2z

a2z Maven

Sep 24, 2012

The right med at the right dose won't make her lose her personality, but it will bring out her personality. The wrong med or the wrong dose could definitely cause a drastic negative change to either much more hyper or lethargic.

I don't find this sad. I know she has become better at focusing, but people with disabilities have to expend so much more energy getting to that point than people without the disablity. This takes a huge toll on a person in all aspects of their lives.

Often when kids with disabilites get home from school they are so mentally exhausted. It impacts their free time or homework time.

5. lucybelle

lucybelle Connoisseur

Sep 24, 2012