A Happy Ending to a Very Rough Year

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by GPC0321, Jun 15, 2017.

1. GPC0321

GPC0321 Companion

Jun 15, 2017

Well, yesterday was my last day of work, and it's now summertime! Hooray! This has been quite a year, truly one of the most difficult I can remember. I've been teaching for 15 and 1/2 years, and goodness knows there have been plenty of ups and downs along the way. Without getting too long-winded, I'll just say that due to many factors, both school-related and life-related, it has just been a stressful year. A difficult group of students, aging and sick (one physical, one mental) parents, the death of two pets, and honestly some mid-life issues (43 year old woman here) that aren't exactly helping either. Everything culminated into what can only be described as a nervous breakdown about a month and a half ago, during which I took a week off from work and with the help of my best friend (bless her), fought to regain my sanity and grip on life.

The remainder of the school year was pretty much the same as it had been. I was uninspired. The kids were uninspired. I basically counted down the days, and was even toying with the idea that I was going to have to quit teaching and find another career. Of course, looking into that idea was even more stressful, as there just aren't many opportunities in the small rural town where I live, and anything besides teaching would either mean a pay cut or forking over more money to continue my education. One of the things I HAVE had under control this year is my financial situation, and I finally realized that despite the slump I was in at school, keeping a decent-paying, secure job at a school 10 minutes down the road from my house in a community that I grew up in, surrounded by people I've known for most of my life was actually a GOOD thing and exactly the stability I needed.