A few questions...

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by futureteach21, May 20, 2009.

1. futureteach21

futureteach21 Habitué

May 20, 2009

Currently my major is in elementary Education (k-6). I have been doing some volunteering in K, and also in a 5/6 grade classroom. I have always thought that I would want to teach the younger grades, maybe 1st or second... But I'm thinking that isn't the correct path. I find that I love the maturity of the 5/6 graders, and have thought a lot about changing my major to secondary education (7-12).

I guess my questions for all you secondary educators are, What made you choose secondary over elementary? What are the advantages and disadvantages of teaching secondary? I would probably major in English (I know... saturated job market) but is it hard to get certified in more than one content area?

Any other helpful information would be greatly appreciated!

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

May 20, 2009

I teach 9-12 and I love it. For me the decision was very easy.

I don't really like little kids. They're cute and everything, but they're so energetic and frenetic. I know myself well enough to know that I would get easily frustrated with them.

I like teaching secondary because I can focus on one subject. I know that I wouldn't be good at switching subjects every 30 minutes like elementary teachers have to do.

Secondary teachers often get longer/more prep periods. I get 85 minutes per day (one free period), plus my contracted minutes before and after classes. Elementary teachers sometimes don't get any prep time. Even if they do, it's often only around 30 minutes during specials.

As an English teacher, you'll get to teach a lot of fun content. You'll also have to grade a lot of papers. English teachers, moreso than teachers in other content areas, seem to spend so much time grading. That's something you'll need to be aware of.