A child with tuberous sclerosis

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by Miss J. Pre-K, Nov 14, 2008.

1. Miss J. Pre-K

Miss J. Pre-K Comrade

Nov 14, 2008

Anyone teach a child with tuberous sclerosis? I teach a four-year-old with it, and she seems to have many autistic behaviors--she rocks herself, flaps her hands, picks up objects and fiddles with them before throwing, etc. I'm a regular preschool teacher and I have one assistant with 18 children, including one with mild/moderate autism as well. We're about to go crazy with this child. We are constantly having to go around and pick up objects she throws, the only saving grace is she will now go to her rocking chair and rock or twirl around to music for a couple of minutes. For the past two days, she has ate wood chips on the playground and thrown them up before we could get to her. I feel like I have no assistant because she constantly has to be with this one child. I'm terrified that she is going to choke before we get to her one day. Any advice is much appreciated! :help:

This is from tsalliance.org if you've never heard of it (I hadn't):
    Tuberous sclerosis complex (TSC) is a genetic disorder that causes tumors to form in many different organs, primarily in the brain, eyes, heart, kidney, skin and lungs. You will see it referred to both as tuberous sclerosis (TS) and tuberous sclerosis complex (TSC). The term TSC is used in scientific literature to distinguish tuberous sclerosis complex from Tourette's syndrome.

The disease affects some people severely, while others are so mildly affected that it often goes undiagnosed. Some people with TSC experience developmental delay, mental retardation and autism. However, there are also many people with TSC living independent, healthy lives who enjoy challenging professions such as doctors, lawyers, educators and researchers.

3. TeachWildThings

TeachWildThings Comrade

Nov 14, 2008