A building wave of hatred against teachers?

Discussion in 'Debate & Marathon Threads Archive' started by Peregrin5, Jul 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Jul 8, 2012

I am sure many of you are acutely aware of this sentiment, and as I am new to the profession, I only now starting to see that a large portion of the public feel that teachers are spoiled, overpaid, corrupt their children, etc. etc.

It's not just teachers too, it's pretty much any public employee. The people discussing such generally believe that education should stop being public and should be a private only venture with vouchers, and charters, and other such nonsense.

A week ago, I was getting burrito and was eating it alone, and this rather large group right next to me of wealthy business people began to complain about teachers. It started off with how one of their students teachers required yadda yadda of their child, and then quickly built into how teachers never work, get summers off, get paid so much, (after all the deductions, we don't get paid much above the poverty level), how bad they are at their jobs, etc. etc. I just got up and left because it was it was making me angry.

It's all over the internet too. People complaining about public workers and teachers, especially on political articles and such. Generally it is conservatives who hold this view.

You would think that parents would be more grateful that we're raising the children they they ignore all day for them.

Have you experienced anything similar?

3. pwhatley

pwhatley Maven

Jul 8, 2012

I haven't experienced anything quite like that personally, but the Governor of my beautiful state (and it is really beautiful!) absolutely hates anything having to do with public schools and public school teachers!

4. Curiouscat

Curiouscat Comrade

Jul 8, 2012