A beginner's portfolio

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by texashistory, Aug 10, 2014.

1. texashistory

texashistory Rookie

Aug 10, 2014

I'm applying for special education teaching positions but I have no formal teaching experience.

So no lesson plans, etc. Student work samples and such are classified since we're a clinic so those aren't things I can bring or copy to put in a portfolio. No parent newsletters, etc. Parent questions are sent to my higher ups and a few snippets of my input are included.

I don't create IEPs, my supervisors and I just follow. Could I do it? Absolutely, I understand how and what not but I'm not a BCBA so I can't at my job.

I was thinking of printing out a blank one and making up a "case" child but I don't know.
    If asked do I tell them in an interview that I don't actually create IEPs?

I have my own ideas roughly about classroom management and all but I don't run anything. Classroom management is BCBA and supervisor ran. They'll take suggestions but at the end of the day their decision is how it goes.

I want to make one but I've been stalling for 2 weeks on the educational philosophy. Everything just sounds so manufactured and cheesy and I don't know how I feel about leading with a quote.

I just have big blanks on the education philosophy, classroom management, lesson plans, student work samples, etc parts. What exactly could I do to compensate for what I don't have and cannot have?

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Aug 10, 2014

What is a BCBA?

I don't quite understand...you are applying for teaching positions but you have no experience, no knowledge of IEP's, classroom management, no parent experience, etc. Did you study any of these things in school?

4. texashistory

texashistory Rookie

Aug 10, 2014

Board certified behavio analyst.