9/11

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by bonneb, Sep 8, 2007.

1. bonneb

bonneb Fanatic

Sep 8, 2007

With 9/11 falling on Tuesday . . . is anybody doing anything special in recognition of this day? I want to do something that will focus on our country, our bond with one another, even though we don't agree on lots of things.

Any ideas or plans?

3. looking in ct

looking in ct Rookie

Sep 8, 2007

I teach 2nd grade and my kids were babies on that day! Hard to believe!

I don't think our school is doing anything, I am new to the school. I always wear a special pin on the anniversary that someone gave to me after 9/11.
    If students ask about it, I just say its a good day to be patriotic and explain what that means. I don't go into details about 9/11 itself. I leave that up to the parents.

4. MissTexas

MissTexas Rookie

Sep 8, 2007

Our school is going to have a school wide pledge around the flagpole followed by a "silent" parade in memory of all the victims of that tragic day. We have also sent out stars to be decorated and displayed throughout the school.

5. anniefan

anniefan Rookie

Sep 8, 2007

I teach in a Christian school, so I am doing a special prayer time. We will make a bracelet with red, white, and blue beads. When we put on the red bead, we will pray for our military, firefighters, policemen, etc. The white bead will be to pray for our country. The blue bead will be to thank God for our freedom.

6. bonneb

bonneb Fanatic

Sep 8, 2007

Great ideas! Thank you. It is comforting to know I am not the only one thinking of this day.

7. mom&teacher

mom&teacher Companion

Sep 8, 2007